General discussion about how VPC works

Continuing the discussion from VPC plot with observations:

@bobbrown @patrick I am just following Patrick’s advice and posting the few things I know about VPC here. (I am not an expert in vpc by any means, pls feel free to correct me)

Probably you have already known, vpc is a simulation-based graphical diagnostic tool to evaluate a given model. What we do is first we simulate a dataset for multiple times using the final estimated parameters of the model. Then we compare different percentiles (median, 25th percentiles, 75th percentiles) of the simulated data to the corresponding percentiles of the observed data. The usual diagnostic tools, i.e. individual fits, goodness of fit, residual plots, are more about diagnosing a model at the individual level. VPC could help us to diagnose a model as a whole in one graph. We would be able to answer questions like '‘whether the average/high/low level of my data is being captured adequately or not’. It has another benefit: there are cases where individual fits look fine, but the model is indeed misspecified. I am attaching a document from Drs. Holford and Karlsson. They illustrated how misspecification of a model was hidden in the individual fits but was revealed in the VPC plot when shrinkage is high (page 21-25). Therefore, it could be more useful. https://www.page-meeting.org/pdf_assets/8694-Karlsson_Holford_VPC_Tutorial_hires.pdf.

@shli6161 Thank you for sharing your experience and the reference. Few thoughts of my own:

1. There was a reference to individual fits vs vpc results. Aren’t the simulations independent of the observed data for vpc? If so, the individual fits represent more so the structural model. However, the distribution of simulated data is being compared to that of the observed for vpc - which seems to be as a population level comparison.